Legal Notice No. 258

REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

THE ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT ACT, 2000

NOTICE

NOTICE OF SUBMISSION FOR PUBLIC COMMENT OF THE DRAFT AIR POLLUTION RULES, 2005

NOTICE IS HEREBY given in accordance with section 28(1)(a) of the Environmental Management Act ("the Act") that the Minister of Public Utilities and the Environment intends to make Rules entitled: "The Air Pollution Rules, 2005" ("the Draft Rules") under section 26(a), (b), (c), (d), (j) and (k) of the Act.

The comments of the Public are hereby invited on the Draft Rules which will prescribe the standard for air pollution in Trinidad and Tobago and the procedure for the application of a variation from the standard.

The Environmental Management Authority ("the Authority") has, pursuant to section 28(1)(b) of the Act, established an Administrative Record that includes a written description of the proposed action, the major environmental issues involved in the matters under consideration, copies of relevant documents or other supporting materials which would assist the public in developing a reasonable understanding of those issues and a statement of the Authority's reasons for the proposed action.

The Administrative Record is available to the public for viewing at the following offices from 8.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. Monday to Friday from Monday 3rd October, 2005 to Friday 11th November, 2005:

- (a) Environmental Management Authority (EMA), 8, Elizabeth Street, St. Clair, Port-of-Spain;
- (b) Department of Natural Resources and the Environment, No. 78 Wilson Road, Units 6 and 7, High Moore Centre, Scarborough, Tobago;
- (c) Siparia Regional Corporation, High Street, Siparia;
- (d) Point Fortin Borough Corporation, Town Hall, George Street, Mahaica, Point Fortin;
- (e) Arima Borough Corporation, 8, Hollis Avenue, Arima;
- (f) San Fernando City Corporation, City Hall, Harris Promenade, San Fernando;

- (g) Chaguanas Borough Corporation, Cumberbatch Street, Chaguanas;
- (h) Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation, Railway Road, Couva;
- (i) Port-of-Spain City Corporation, City Hall, 2–4, Knox Street, Port-of-Spain;
- (j) Diego Martin Regional Corporation, Orchid Drive, Morne Coco Road, Petit Valley;
- (k) Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation, High Street, Rio Claro;
- (1) Penal/Debe Regional Corporation, Dookie Street, Penal;
- (m) Princes Town Regional Corporation, Hosein Building, High Street, Princes Town;
- (n) San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation, MTS Plaza, Aranguez Main Road, Aranguez;
- (o) Sangre Grande Regional Corporation, Ramdass Street, Sangre Grande;
- (p) Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation, Centenary Street, Tunapuna;
- (q) Guayaguayare Community Centre, Serrier Circular Road, Guayaguayare;
- (r) Mayaro Civic Centre, Plaisance Road, Mayaro;
- (s) Tobago Inland Revenue Division, Roxborough, Tobago;
- (t) Marine Resources and Fisheries, TLH Building, Milford Road, Tobago; and
- (u) Buccoo Reef Trust, Cowie's Building, Carnbee Junction, Carnbee.

Any person wishing to submit comments on the Draft Rules must do so in writing from 3rd October, 2005 to 11th November, 2005 addressed to the Corporate Secretary, Environmental Management Authority, 8, Elizabeth Street, St. Clair, Port-of-Spain.

Dated this 28th day of September, 2005.

K. OGEER

Corporate Secretary, Environmental Management Authority

PRINTED BY THE GOVERNMENT PRINTER, PORT-OF-SPAIN REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO—2005